alf and lou bookstore

earlier this year, my obsession toward children’s books is growing stronger and stronger. I kept posting and talking about it. And obviously I couldn’t stop buying them! One day I was talking to H about an illustrator and her book when he said: you should sell them.

I replied enthusiastically : that has been my dream!!!

but starting a bookstore seemed like something impossible. I mean, people do that but we have big competitors like Amazon (and their affiliated online bookstore around the world), we have big chain stores as well, you can easily spot them in every malls. How can I compete with them?

I thought about it and thought some more. I did my research, talked to lots of people in the business, correspondent with publishers abroad, and then did some simple mind map. The result was: this is entirely possible. When I decided I was gonna do it, I felt an adrenaline rush and I was filled with excitement. I knew this won’t be easy but I was ready to sail the ship!

It was 5 or 6 months ago, and we decided to start slow. we don’t know anything about the business and we want to be careful. So far, this is what we’ve got:

20131008-202146.jpg
a logo

20131008-173224.jpg
a Facebook page

20131008-200840.jpg
an instagram account

20131008-201303.jpg
a pop up bookstore

not bad 🙂

those are things I had never thought I could do before. The amount of support I’ve been receiving from people around me has helped me a lot. I know these are too small to be called a goal, but they are my little ‘hooray I did It!’.

Leave a Reply

