on my bookshelf

I have literally thousand of books in my house, they’re everywhere, filling every shelves, cabinet, and corners of our house. I’m an avid reader, so do my two sisters and my father. Problem is, this drives my mother crazy, being the manager of the house, she finds it irritating that books are often neglected everywhere after or during reading. She finally made an ultimatum: either we sort all of the books or she’s going to give all of them as a donation to our local non-profit organization. Not that I didn’t want to contribute but the fear of losing my books are bothering me that I put book-sorting into my schedule. I put most of the manga and translated fiction books in donation boxes, and surprisingly, I only have few books that I consider worth to keep.

I tried to arrange them based on their colors, but when I showed it to my sister, she didn’t recall any color coordination whatsoever. Oh well. But I like how tidy it was.

here are some of my favorites:

  1. How The World Works, pop up children book, by Christian Dorion and illustrated byBeverley Young
  2. The Absolutely Essential Eloise by Kay Thompson and Hillary Knight
  3. All Harry Potter series by JK Rowling
  4. Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
  5. Children World Dictionary (the illustrations were ah-mah-zing)
  6. The Unknown Error of Our Lives by Jumpa Lahiri
  7. Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman
  8. The Umbrella Man by Roald Dahl
  9. The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
  10. Flavian De Luce series by Alan Bradley
  11. The Man In The Moon, beautifully illustrated children book by William Joyce
  12. Psych 101 by Paul Kleinman
  13. The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith
  14. How To Kill A Mockingbir by Harper Lee
  15. Tamar by Mal Peet
  16. The Daring Book For Girls by Andrea J.Buchanan
  17. The Museum of Innocence by Orhan Pamuk
  18. The Marriage Plot by Jefrey Euginides
  19. Little Bee by Chris Cleave
  20. When You’re Engulfed in Flame by David Sedaris

My babies, *sigh*, I dusted my shelves and thinking I will definitely do the sorting again when I move to my new place, but that’s not until next year. The first thing that I was worried about when I had another big fight with my boyfriend was: Darn! I left my unfinished No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency in his bedside table! and made mental plan how to extract the book without him around. (Thank God, we made up before I commit breaking and entering).

 

Leave a Reply

