in love with asian

Asian movies are not my interest except for their horror flick. Japan won my heart and Thai always scare the shit out of me (and they can be funny sometimes). But two of the latest movie I saw in cinema is both Asian, and both are great.

3 Idiots

3 Idiots

3 Idiots

I saw this alone and had no idea what kind of movie this is. I thought this was only a comedy movie and ready to have some good laugh. It is funny, but moreover, it is great. The plot is about free thinker freshman named Rancho. He is smart and have the guts to stand for what he believes, even if it is against school most feared and fierce professor in the university, Virus. Rancho have 2 bestfriend, the plot goes and to my surprise, this movie is not just about comedy and love, but how India’s school system did not bring the best of the children, how creative job like a photographer was taken for granted, how suicide rates in India is very high. I get the whole school system issue, it was like in Indonesia in a way, always focus with what on textbooks and less on interaction with what is the object of the study. How we learn to answers question based on what is written on the textbook, to the coma and the dot. How we taught to memorize the answer, not understand it. As the movie goes, I not only laughs, but also cry and learn. (Oh, and I happen to have big crush on Aamir Khan who plays Rancho)

Indian guys are really good looking

Bangkok Traffic Love Story

Bangkok Traffic Love Story

Thailand famous with its horror genre movies, I’m a big fan of their horrors. So I’m kinda surprise, I like this genre also. It’s about 30 something girl who desperate because she’s the latest among her friends not yet married (not even have a boyfriend). She was hopeless, then one night she realized she made a mistake since her teenage age, which is : never make a move with a boy (because she assumed her mother told her not to). Then one day, she encourage herself to give her phone number to a guy he met everyday on the train (because she’s too nervous, she gave him her home number, not her cellphone number). I know this kind of theme is old, but it’s nice to see how the female lead got all nervous, jittery, ecstatic as she get closer and closer to the guy she have a crush on. I think, no matter how old are you, or how experienced you are, every girl will act the way she act (though not so noticeable) but hey, you fall in love and that smirk just stay on your face all day long. šŸ™‚

And lesson : don’t wait for the right guy you’ve been eye-ing since forever to call you. Make your first move. šŸ˜€

3 thoughts on “in love with asian

  1. Chita, I am a first time visitor. I am awake at 3:30 am and on the computer. I am a movie lover and the two movies here sound like movies I would like to see. I have a movie page but it’s not really a review of the movies I watch. It needs to be updated. I’ll do that later. Thanks for the reviews.

  2. thanks for your comment, speaking of updating reviews, I need to do that soon too. I saw your review on your blog and like how simple and short your comment about the movies on your list.

    and can I add you in my blogroll? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

