to vote or not to vote, that’s not a question.

lately, everybody talks about politics. With the election coming up (it’s tomorrow!), the buzz is everywhere. Yes, even though my grandma (who suffered ostheoporosis  and can not walk well)  insist on voting. the media covered stories about politics, wether the candidates programme, the debate, or just an informal talkshow (I watching it right now).

I know, not many young people really care about politics in  Indonesia, many of them care too, but what I really want to talk about is they who won’t vote tomorrow.

I myself, think democration in Indonesia is not well practiced, but I also believe, we will keep making mistakes until we do it right. I know maybe I’m not in the government (not that I want to be), or that Iwas a politician. But I also belief that helping our country not just about being a politician or working for government.

Once, my friends was announcing her/himself that they were a non-voter. When I aksed  why,they said and I quote : ‘I don’t want to be held responsible if the president I chose made a wrong decision and instead of helping people, they do otherwise.’

that is so fuckin bullshit.

first, who will held them responsible?

this people think they are way smarter than all the candidates and can make a better amendment for people of Indonesia (well, maybe they will someday) but you see, by not voting that means you are not participating. I see situation in Indonesia like this : this is one BIG BIG problem, three people stand up with solution, each with different ways (or maybe different reason, but only God knows), and basically we just chose whose solutions are better. By chosing, at least we’re trying to help this BIG BIG problem, wether our candidate do it right, or wrong that is out of our control. (and plus, this is not a cult, nobody ask you to go down with them if they are going down).

but I hope they change their mind for tomorrow election day.

just don’t be conceited asshole who keep complaining about our country (from our government to education to transportation to facilitation to Indonesian people manner than back again to our government) but chose not to vote.

I say, vote. Not just for a better Indonesia (though that is what we all hoping), but mostly for our awareness to this country. Voting is mean to be involved, and it means that you care.

So, what can you do (or already done) for Indonesia?

ps : and please stop complaining , I quote the famous ex-president of usa, ‘don’t ask what your country can do for you, but ask yourself, what can you do for your country?’

I'm starting with the man in the mirror,
I'm asking him to change his ways,
And no message could have been any clearer,
If you wanna make the world a better place,
Take a look at yourself and then make a change.
-man in the mirror, m.jackson-
Leave a Reply

